6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

This forum is dedicated to retrofitting existing CNC Machines with Buildbotics Controllers.
Forum rules
Use of profanity is prohibited.
Gambling is prohibited.
Sexual or pornographic material is prohibited.
Illegal activities of any kind are prohibited.
The moderator reserves the right to deny or delete any content without notice.
Post Reply
JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Wed Mar 02, 2022 6:23 am

I thought starting this topic would help me and others with Vicon Retrofits. I came across several different threads across the web, but not many, if any, solutions. It has been a struggle to get to this point. I came across Buildbotics about a month ago, did some research, and finally ordered a controller last night. I can not wait to dig in and set it up.

Old setup was:
  • Vicon 1653 table
  • SR-45i Torch
  • GALIL Motion Control Card (DMC-1842)
  • Superior Electric Slo-Syn Motor (KML092F07)
New setup was (in progress):
  • Vicon 1653 table
  • Powermax 45 XP
  • Ordered Buildbotics Controller
  • Superior Electric Slo-Syn Motor (KML092F07)

JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Thu Apr 14, 2022 5:06 am

One thing I am noticing while waiting for other parts to ship. The existing stepper motors show 3.48v, and unless I am misreading something, the controller sends 5v. Should I order parts to step down the voltages? Sorry, some of the questions may be dumb; I am learning as I go with the retrofit.

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by Doug » Thu Apr 14, 2022 5:54 pm

3.47 volts is the maximum DC voltage that can be applied without exceeding the motor’s ability to dissipate the heat that would be generated through i2r losses in the motor coils.

This voltage is not related to the voltage sent to the motors from the BB controller.

The BB controller actually sends voltage pulses with an amplitude equal to the power supply voltage. The pulses are precisely controlled to ensure the desired current in the motor coils.

JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Sat Apr 16, 2022 5:04 pm

Short video with the controller running the gantry. Hopefully, I will have the torch connected next week.

https://youtu.be/cumIMRyPixw

JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Wed Apr 20, 2022 2:05 pm

What would be the proper tool-type and pins for a plasma setup to fire the torch?

JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Wed Apr 20, 2022 5:26 pm

Will this relate to my setup?
Doug wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:23 am
Here's how to use pin 15 to control the high power load outputs. This method will work for either or both.

1. On the tool page, select PWM spindle, set 'tool-enable-mode' to 'lo-hi', and save your work.
2. On the I/O page, change the load output that you want to use to 'disabled'. This allows the load pin on the DB25 connector to become a 3.3 Volt input that controls the hi-power load output on the back panel.
3. Use a jumper inside the DB25 breakout box to connect pin 15 (tool-enable) to pin 2 (load 1).

After you do this, an M3 SXXX command will cause pin 15 to go high which will drive pin 2 high, which will turn on the high power Load 1 connector on the BB Controller. M5 will turn it off.

JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Thu Apr 21, 2022 5:49 am

Last night, I had it dry running a cut, and it was running through the relay as it should. It would close the relay when it was cutting and then turn off to move the next cut and fire again. I tested the exact same thing this morning, and nothing LOL

The only thing I can think of is I fried the relay, or it was bad. I ordered the SSR-25-DD before I noticed that SSR-40-DD was recommended in the manual.

JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Thu Apr 21, 2022 4:03 pm

It was not having S10000 in the code...

JAtchley
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2022 6:50 am

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by JAtchley » Tue May 10, 2022 10:52 am

Testing the fire later today, but I almost have the motors calibrated

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZCoH3p ... JustPlasma

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: 6' x 20' Vicon CNC Retrofit

Post by Doug » Tue May 10, 2022 11:20 am

Can’t wait to see how it cuts.

Post Reply