3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post technical questions about the Buildbotic Controller here.
Forum rules
No profanity, no gambling, no illegal activity, so sexual or pornographic material.

Posts not related to the Buildbotic CNC Controller are likely to be moved or deleted.
Post Reply
mrecircuits
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 24, 2022 6:07 pm

3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by mrecircuits » Wed Jul 13, 2022 10:19 am

Hello,
I've started running code, and I'm having a problem with the 3D View working. I'm getting this error every time:
"Error 0 - Non-rapid move with zero feed rate While executing GCode block:G1 At: <program-start>:2 Caused by: Non-rapid move with zero feed rate"

I'm getting this even when trying to view the default buildbotics.nc program. Interestingly, I can view okay using the Demo controller. Is there anything I'm doing wrong? I'm using the Firefox browser, if that matters.

I am able to run the code, just not see it running on the viewer.

Thanks!
Mike

mrecircuits
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 24, 2022 6:07 pm

Re: 3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by mrecircuits » Wed Jul 20, 2022 5:59 am

Hi, I just wanted to check again to see if anyone knows why I'm getting this error. It seems any GCode I try opening from my controller gets this message when I open the 3D Viewer, but it works okay when using the Demo interface. Curious what the differences are. Help!
Thanks,
Mike

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: 3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by Doug » Thu Jul 21, 2022 7:47 pm

Making a non-rapid move with zero feed rate should cause an error because the command cannot be executed. It either doesn’t know how fast to go or it tries to move at zero speed.

mrecircuits
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 24, 2022 6:07 pm

Re: 3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by mrecircuits » Fri Jul 22, 2022 7:14 am

Hey Doug, thanks for the reply. It seems though that any code I open has the same problem, including the default buildbotics demo file. Here's an example of something simple that causes the error:

G1 G20 G90
G1 F20 X0 Y0 Z0
G1 F8 Z-.8
G4 P3
G1 F2 X1 Y1
G4 P3
G1 F2 X2.125
G4 P3
G1 F2 Y6.5
G4 P3
G1 F2 X15
G4 P3
G1 F2 Y1
G4 P3
G1 F2 X16.125
G4 P3
G1 F2 Y9.126
G4 P3
G1 F2 X1
G4 P3
G1 F2 Y1
G4 P3
G1 F8 Z0
G1 F8 X0 Y0
M30

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: 3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by Doug » Fri Jul 22, 2022 3:51 pm

You must set the feed rate before executing a non-rapid move. Otherwise, the controller doesn’t know how fast to go during the move.

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: 3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by Doug » Fri Jul 22, 2022 3:57 pm

Try removing the G1 from the first line.

mrecircuits
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 24, 2022 6:07 pm

Re: 3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by mrecircuits » Fri Jul 22, 2022 6:21 pm

Thanks! That was the problem. But it still didn't work until I went to the settings page and removed G1 that was in the Program-Start box. Once I removed that, and then reloaded the modified file, 3D Viewer worked.

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: 3D View and Zero Feed Rate

Post by Doug » Sat Jul 23, 2022 7:41 pm

👍

Post Reply