Page 1 of 1

Do away with "offset"

Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:33 am
by retrosmith
I personally find the use of "offset" on the Control page confusing, as opposed to the more popular use of "work coordinates" and "machine coordinates". I realize it's just a matter of math ("Offset is equal to Absolute - Position"), but it's a lot harder for me to envision what's going on like this.

Seems like it would as simple as adding a subtraction operation to the code and changing the label from "offset" to "Work Coordinates". This is a far more common means of showing the two values and would be immensely easier to follow in my opinion.

Re: Do away with "offset"

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:35 am
by Mick
I'd Like to see this changed also, makes more sense in my mind if I saw something like "machine home" "work home".

Re: Do away with "offset"

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:02 am
by Doug
I have submitted a new issue on github asking for this change. You can see the issue (and add to it if you like) on github. The issue can be viewed at the following link.

https://github.com/buildbotics/bbctrl-f ... issues/227

Doug

Re: Do away with "offset"

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:00 pm
by Bob Z
I agree. Offset is confusing and leads to errors