Do away with "offset"

Post any suggestions that you have for new features and enhancements for the Buildbotics Controller here.
Post Reply
retrosmith
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:15 pm

Do away with "offset"

Post by retrosmith » Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:33 am

I personally find the use of "offset" on the Control page confusing, as opposed to the more popular use of "work coordinates" and "machine coordinates". I realize it's just a matter of math ("Offset is equal to Absolute - Position"), but it's a lot harder for me to envision what's going on like this.

Seems like it would as simple as adding a subtraction operation to the code and changing the label from "offset" to "Work Coordinates". This is a far more common means of showing the two values and would be immensely easier to follow in my opinion.

Mick
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 2:16 am

Re: Do away with "offset"

Post by Mick » Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:35 am

I'd Like to see this changed also, makes more sense in my mind if I saw something like "machine home" "work home".

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: Do away with "offset"

Post by Doug » Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:02 am

I have submitted a new issue on github asking for this change. You can see the issue (and add to it if you like) on github. The issue can be viewed at the following link.

https://github.com/buildbotics/bbctrl-f ... issues/227

Doug

Bob Z
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Do away with "offset"

Post by Bob Z » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:00 pm

I agree. Offset is confusing and leads to errors

Post Reply