Enable Stepper Motors

Post any suggestions that you have for new features and enhancements for the Buildbotics Controller here.
Post Reply
carpetfiber101
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:41 am

Enable Stepper Motors

Post by carpetfiber101 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:21 am

Hi Buildbotics,
I love the controller! Is there a code to enable/disable current to the stepper motors?

I need to set "idle-current = 2 amps" while the machine is running. It'd be great if there was a command to allow me to turn on and off the steppers when they're not being used (loading new material to be machined and the like). Is this possible? ( I know I can do it in the settings, but a command would be very quick, easy, and could be in the program).

Thanks for the help and great controller.

Matt A.

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: Enable Stepper Motors

Post by Doug » Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:06 am

We do not have a command to do this. However, all the motors get tuned off when the machine goes into estop. You could click the estop button. Beware that estop clears all position information so you will have to re-home the machine after the estop clears.

carpetfiber101
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:41 am

Re: Enable Stepper Motors

Post by carpetfiber101 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:18 pm

Ok thanks! While we can't always have our cake and eat it too, the e-stop trick will save some time!

Post Reply