Load1 36v down to 12v

Post technical questions about the Buildbotic Controller here.
Forum rules
No profanity, no gambling, no illegal activity, so sexual or pornographic material.

Posts not related to the Buildbotic CNC Controller are likely to be moved or deleted.
Post Reply
Mick
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 2:16 am

Load1 36v down to 12v

Post by Mick » Tue May 19, 2020 7:23 pm

So I'm upgrading to a 2.2kw water cooled spindle and was thinking of using the load1 output to turn on and off the water pump.

My controller is currently powered by a 36volt power supply
The water pump is 12volt
My thoughts were to run the load1 output to a step down converter as below
https://au.mouser.com/ProductDetail/MEA ... ejlw%3D%3D

Then from the step down 12 volt to the water pump

Will this work?
Any better solutions?

Thanks
Mick

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: Load1 36v down to 12v

Post by Doug » Wed May 20, 2020 11:15 am

That should work, but something like this would be cheaper, and it is sealed.

https://www.ebay.com/i/254089911666?chn ... 5wQAvD_BwE

I am using one of these for another application and it seems to work fine.

Mick
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 2:16 am

Re: Load1 36v down to 12v

Post by Mick » Wed May 20, 2020 4:56 pm

Thanks Doug

Mick
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 2:16 am

Re: Load1 36v down to 12v

Post by Mick » Sun Jun 14, 2020 10:04 pm

Doug any recommendations for a relay that I can use for the load 1 output which is 3.3volts?

3.3v trigger 36v from the power supply
or
3.3 trigger 24v after the convertor

Solid state relay?

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: Load1 36v down to 12v

Post by Doug » Mon Jun 15, 2020 10:16 pm

I have been using the SSR40-DD solid state relays successfully on the 3.3V outputs. Here's a link:

https://www.amazon.com/SSR-40-5-220VDC- ... ial&sr=1-2

Doug

Post Reply