Dual Stepper Axis

Post technical questions about the Buildbotic Controller here.
Forum rules
No profanity, no gambling, no illegal activity, so sexual or pornographic material.

Posts not related to the Buildbotic CNC Controller are likely to be moved or deleted.
Post Reply
Reset
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:46 am

Dual Stepper Axis

Post by Reset » Sun Jun 07, 2020 4:15 pm

When configuring an axis that needs 2 linked stepper channels, is it possible to use a limit switch for each and home them independently so that you can correct for any skew that happens if the steppers go out of sync when powered off?

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: Dual Stepper Axis

Post by Doug » Sun Jun 07, 2020 7:58 pm

No, we do not have that capability.

Reset
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:46 am

Re: Dual Stepper Axis

Post by Reset » Mon Jun 08, 2020 8:12 am

Is it possible to request that feature? Seems like all the hardware is there to do it, it would only require some software tweaks, and this would be huge.

User avatar
Doug
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:56 pm

Re: Dual Stepper Axis

Post by Doug » Mon Jun 08, 2020 6:42 pm

Yes,

We keep a list of bug reports and feature enhancement requests on our github repository. You can submit a feature request by clicking "New Issue" at the following link. I think you will have to create an account on github to do this.

https://github.com/buildbotics/bbctrl-firmware/issues

Doug

Post Reply